Clean Power ChampionsThe 17th Annual Clean Power Champion Awards

Tuesday, August 20, 2019
5:30PM – 7:30PM

Cocktail Reception and Hors D’oeuvres
The California Museum
1020 O Street, Sacramento, California 95814


Please Note: Public parking garages close at 7:00PM.

Our Annual Clean Power Champion Awards Ceremony will be held on Tuesday, August 20, 2019. CEERT is hosting another very special party in Sacramento at The California Museum, 1020 O Street to honor five champions and pioneers of energy conservation and green, renewable energy.


CEERT’s Clean Power Champion Awards 2019


Dan Jacobson Dan Jacobson
State Director, Environment California

Dan Jacobson drives the strategy development and execution of Environment California’s campaigns and lobbying in the California state Capitol. He has successfully advocated for the passage of dozens of bills into law, including measures to ban toxic chemicals, bring 1 million solar roofs to California, and commit the state to divest from coal. Jacobson has also spearheaded two winning ballot campaigns, one that defended California’s groundbreaking Global Warming Solutions Act against an oil industry-backed repeal effort, and another to ban single-use plastic bags in grocery stores.
Mark Ferron Mark Ferron
Former CPUC Commissioner & CAISO Board Member

Mark Ferron is a leader in the intersection of Energy, the Environment, Finance and Philanthropy. He currently serves on the Board of Governors of the California Independent System Operator, which manages the high-voltage electricity system in California and parts of the West. Ferron is also on the Board of Trustees of the Rocky Mountain Institute and is active with a number of environmental and other mission-driven organizations. From 2011 to 2014, Ferron was a Commissioner on the California Public Utilities Commission, focused on renewable energy, energy efficiency and resource adequacy.
Aura Vásquez Aura Vásquez
Former Commissioner, LADWP

Aura Vásquez runs a consulting business that bears her name and is one of five commissioners on the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power’s board. Vasquez, 39, provides environmental and political consulting. Vásquez’s work includes the successful push for a law that requires utilities to produce 50% of their electricity from clean energy sources by 2030 and to reduce greenhouse gas levels to 40% below 1990 levels. At the DWP, the nation’s largest municipal utility, her potential impact is broad as the utility employs more than 9,000 people and serves 647,000 water customers and 1.4 million electricity ratepayers.
Lorenzo Kristov Lorenzo Kristov
Consultant, Electricity System Policy, Structure & Market Design

Lorenzo Kristov is Principal, Market and Infrastructure Policy at California Independent System Operator (CAISO). For most of the 2000s he was a lead designer of the locational marginal pricing-based market structure the CAISO implemented in 2009. He later led initiatives to redesign the transmission planning process and the new generator interconnection process to accommodate rapid growth of renewable energy projects triggered by California’s renewable portfolio standards. Since then Kristov has focused on integrating distributed energy resources into the CAISO markets and grid operations, and has led CAISO’s engagement in CPUC proceedings dealing with distributed energy resources.
William Funderburk, Jr. William Funderburk, Jr.
Former Commissioner, LADWP

William Funderburk, Jr. manages the Los Angeles office of business law firm, Castellón & Funderburk LLP. He was appointed as one of five board members at LADWP. Funderburk, Jr. worked with the general counsel’s office and management on sustainability, renewables, water quality, geothermal, air quality, groundwater resources and quality, stormwater, water recycling, stormwater capture, clean tech (Los Angeles Cleantech Incubator) and climate policy issues. He was one of the negotiators on the landmark Owens Valley agreement.